Month: May 2014

  • Missing My Old Friend!

    Thursday evening I decided a French Bread pizza would "hit the spot" so did one for a few minutes in the microwave and then put it in my range oven to get it crispy ... set the timer for 15 min. It was perfect in about 11 minutes so turned off oven and a FLASH came from the oven knob accompanied by a loud BANG! My 25 year old General Electric range is now completely dead I fear. The range hood is the only thing working since it's completely detached from the range. I am missing my old friend but it did give me a good excuse to eat out with my friend Elaine who said she has a single portable burner I can use for using my skillets, etc.

    My neighbor Monique insisted on loaning me an Oster toaster oven she had in her garage. I'll be able to toast or broil or bake with it. The microwave and my ancient crock pot and the large George Foreman grill and a big enough for a turkey roaster oven stored in my garage will be enable me to get along without my range for now.

    With the condo for sale I don't feel like getting a brand new range which may or may not be the kind a buyer for my place would want anyway. Besides it might be too hard to get a new one to match the light almond or bone color of my three year old refrigerator and dishwasher. Hmmmmm....what to do....any suggestions?