April 5, 2013

  • Val’s Visiting: A Reason to Celebrate!

    Val and “Sparky” arrived safely this evening. Knowing how much I love rocks, she gave me special one to wear…a Unakite necklace for my birthday. She found it in Arizona during their recent vacation out west. Now, according to this special stone’s history, I will be protected and my life enhanced in many ways by its special powers. It’s very pretty and the powerful protection is a plus!

    While Val is here, she is going to make some of that delicious looking pumpkin soup sometime before going back home; but both of them will have to help me eat the big pan of lasagna prepared earlier today. I had forgotten how much harder lasagna is to prepare than just spaghetti and meat sauce, but it turned out well. I also made some “brookies” from a recipe a friend posted on Facebook. They are yummy and very fattening I fear….but okay to eat once in awhile like a special occasion when a daughter visits! It’s a wedding of brownies and chocolate chip cookies….for my version anyway. I added some chopped walnuts to half of them since walnuts are supposed to be healthy, and I needed to rationalize a reason for making them. Chocolate and walnuts both are health foods after all…well that was my sort of logical reasoning.

    Here is a photo of the “brookies” which were LOTS easier and quicker to make than that lasagna. This batch had the walnuts in them. Yummy stuff indeed.

     

Comments (5)

  • The brookies look good! Chocolate and nuts are healthy, so that’s good. I found a recipe on-line that tastes like lasagna, is easy like a baked spaghetti, but uses eggs noodles. The best of both worlds.

  • The pumpkin soup is done and delicious. Of course the brookies are very tasty too!

  • Happy belated birthday Joyce. what a great event to have daughter and son in law come over. The cookies look great.

  • That sounds like a magnificent celebration — daughter visit, lasagna, pumpkin soup, and brookies!  Have a wonderful time!

  • Those brookies look very nice indeed.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *