Month: June 2013

  • It's Not Summer Without a Big Brim Hat!

    I was cleaning out closet and saw some of my summer hats, three which I've not worn for ages, just gathering dust on the top shelf. I got them down and decided I'd wear one to church tomorrow if it's not raining! Everyone, especially fair skinned red heads like me, need to keep out of the sun's harmful rays! So why not wear these hats this summer. I have yellow and turquoise colored ones just like the brown one below....plus a lot of others resting safely in some rather ancient round cardboard hatboxes! Those boxes are as old a my children who qualify for AARP membership. I've always loved hats....especially big brim picture hats. My Grandma Bessie's used to let me try on all her hats when she was redecorating them with colorful silk flowers she'd purchased to get them ready and looking like new for the for the spring and summer....she would have made a good milliner. Below are some of the favorite big brim hats I've worn. 

  • Interesting Exercise Buddy Today

    I exercised about 80 minutes at cardiac rehab. The last 45 minutes went fast since the fellow next to me was so interesting and talkative....retired telecommunications professor emeritus, Steve Bell, who was also former ABC news anchor and foreign correspondent during the Vietnam War days. He's also a close friend to Ted Koppel (close enough to be godfather to one of his children) so brought me up to date about Koppel's family. I always liked Ted's daughter Andrea Koppel when she appeared regularly on the TV news programs. Anyway, having an "exercise buddy" always makes the time go fast. Bell said he'd be sure to remember my name since is wife's name is also "Joyce." The first photo of Bell was taken in 2012...he does have a portable oxygen unit and now has to walk with a cane...and is almost 4 years younger than I am...I am blessed. The other photo was taken when he was news anchor for ABC's Good Morning America. I meet some very interesting people in the cardiac rehab center!

    Photo

    Photo